A daring orchestral experiment.

Chelsea Now


The Chelsea Symphony is a dynamic, self-governing ensemble with a major cultural presence in Manhattan’s Chelsea neighborhood. We present music of the highest caliber while upending the traditional hierarchy of the classical orchestra: our musicians rotate as featured soloists, conductors, and composers. Through this collaborative model, we provide professional development opportunities for our members while performing inspiring concerts of music both old and new.

How We Work

The Chelsea Symphony is a non-profit, self-governing orchestra that aims to provide performance opportunities for its musicians while operating at an affordable scale. Soloists, conductors, and featured composers all come from within the orchestra’s ranks, and earn this benefit by playing in the orchestra. Our administrative operations are also handled by members of the ensemble.


Founded in 2005 by young conductors Yaniv Segal and Miguel Campos Neto, The Chelsea Symphony has established a reputation as one of the most innovative ensembles in the New York metropolitan area. Shortly after its inception, the orchestra was featured in WNYC’s “Salute to the Arts” Initiative, and Steve Smith of The New York Times praised the ensemble for its “earnest, vibrant” playing. The Chelsea Symphony has collaborated with many noteworthy artists, including Clay Aiken, Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg, Tony Award winner Lillias White, Broadway composer Seth Rudetsky, the Irish Tenors, and fashion designer Malan Breton. The orchestra’s annual holiday concert has featured guest celebrities Richard Kind, David Hyde Pierce, Ana Gasteyer, Charles Busch, Andrea Martin, Rachel Dratch, Mo Rocca, Victor Garber, BD Wong, and Seth Rudetsky narrating The Night Before Christmas by Aaron Dai.

An enterprising group of young musicians.

Time Out

A champion of new music, The Chelsea Symphony has given the first performance of more than fifty compositions and presented many regional premieres. Nearly every one of the orchestra’s concerts features a work by a living American composer. In 2009, the ensemble presented open rehearsals of Séance on a Wet Afternoon, the new opera by legendary Wicked composer and Academy Award winner Stephen Schwartz, in advance of the work’s premiere by Opera Santa Barbara. In 2013, the orchestra gave the New York City premieres of the Americana Symphony and The Improvised Violin Concerto by Grammy Award-winning violinist and composer Mark O’Connor—a performance that was featured in The Wall Street Journal. The Chelsea Symphony’s debut studio recording, Joy and Sorrow, a collection of world premiere compositions by renowned composer David Chesky, was released in September 2015. In the 2014-2015 season, the orchestra initiated a composition contest for early-career composers adjudicated by Conductor Laureate of the Seattle Symphony and music director of the All-Star Orchestra Gerard Schwarz, now in its third year.

Among discs of Chesky's music, this one is a winner.

Fanfare Magazine

While maintaining its home base in Manhattan’s Chelsea neighborhood, the orchestra has broadened its reach in recent years. The ensemble made its Lincoln Center debut in 2011, and has presented concerts at the United Nations, Bargemusic, Symphony Space, New York Fashion Week, Central Park, Alice Tully Hall, David Geffen Hall (then Avery Fisher Hall), Merkin Concert Hall, and The DiMenna Center for Classical Music. In 2013, the orchestra launched an educational programming initiative and has collaborated with the Harmony Program, the United Palace Theatre in Washington Heights, and the Brooklyn Music School. The Chelsea Symphony performed at the premiere event for the pilot of the Amazon Original Series "Mozart in the Jungle" in December 2014 at Alice Tully Hall. Members of TCS can be seen in all three seasons of the show, with season 3 premiering December 9 on Amazon.com.

The Chelsea Symphony is proud to be a member of the Chelsea Cultural Partnership/Destination Chelsea.

Board of Directors
Artistic Directors Matthew Aubin
Mark Seto
President Emily Wong
Vice President Stephen McDougall Graham
Secretary Christine Todd
Board Members Elise Frawley
EJ Lee
Angela Shankar
Development Committee Gina Dyches
Elise Frawley
- Development Manager

Elizabeth Holub
Kat Lawhead
EJ Lee
Officers & Staff
Conductors Matthew Aubin
Reuben Blundell
Nell Flanders
Mark Seto
Treasurer Richard Beales
Founders Miguel Campos-Neto
Yaniv Segal
Resident Composer Aaron Dai
Graphic Designer Kerri Conrad Visuals
Web Developer Nick Buonincontri
Marketing & Public Relations Consultant Elizabeth Holub
Librarian Jess Santiago
Personnel Manager Alicia Furey
Public Relations Unison Media

Site Credits

WEB DESIGN Bloomsday Design
WEB DEVELOPMENT Nick Buonincontri
LOGO DESIGN Bloomsday Design